SMC: Denim Jackets

denim-jacket
Need Want a new one!  Not shopping just yet though.

Thinking on Requirements

  • Dark
  • Basic [no extra]
  • Fits well in shoulders and waist
  • Well made
  • Stretchy for movement…I hate stiff denim
  • Seams that match the denim

If I am to have ONE, it must be versatile and fit well…

I’m tired of almost and kinda good enough – someone else might love it and actually use what I am hanging onto…

I’m donating the ones I can’t bring myself to wear…donating outside that which is easy to give [my usualy MO] – making some hard choices and giving things I’d hold onto for ‘just in case’ situations…

I’ve two charity  layers…Ma’s Girls and any charity that picks up, currently Cedar Lake.

Ma’s Girls

I donate things here that are super gently used.  My aim is to help.  I know what it’s like to be without…perhaps not for the same reasons…but lack is lack and it doesn’t matter why there is a lack.  The need is still there as well as a serious inability to do anything about it.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me,

Matthew 25.35

Generally, I’ve bought too much of something and my style changed, it didn’t work for my life or my body changed.  I’m not trying to be minimalist, but, if I avoid it, I won’t wear it and perhaps someone else won’t.

Ma has a heart for helping and really knowing the stories and seeing the people.  I shy away from getting close but help how I can.  It may be a major flaw, but I don’t do emotion like that.  Ma really embodies:

She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy.

Proverbs 31.20

Charities that help women without charging them are where I like to send my best donations.  I’ve already paid, why should they have to?

Cedar Lake

They pickup, which I love because I will delay loading things into the car…so that is a major win for me.  I donate things here that are household goods, books, and less gently used clothing [I tend to not be super brutal – but I want Ma’s Girls to have the best as they embark on new lives].  It may need a repair or could use some love for restoration [skills I lack].  Good enough not to actually throw away.

Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

Matthew 25.27-40

[Our church clothing bank is currently full…hence it not being a tier/layer]

On a spare, especially if I am campaigning to buy something more expensive than usual I will consign/sell [Harrow booties]…but the effort and return on the time investment…I really have to be in the mood for that…and also feel it is the right thing to do…sometimes, giving is the way to go.

May aim is to send boxes with CLL as often as they pickup but no more than  month…they seem to come more during the holidays!

DO BETTER!

Recently, I was SO convicted to consider my ways with Luke 12.29-34.  Faith needs feet, so that night, I really went through my closet and drawers [many passes will be needed because I’m human and like my things] and filled some bags for Ma’s Girls.  I have a lot of things…and while I tend to err on the side of caution…I think my caution buffer is too big…I can give some things away!  My main take-aways were:

  • Don’t worry…trust God, He knows what I need
  • Kingdom concern vice so much focus on adorning my physical form
  • Give to those in need, don’t store up stuff here [my closet OMG] but store it up in heaven
  • My heart and thoughts reveal where my treasure is…I feel like Smaug right about now except clothing/shoes/bags where he loved gold/treasure
  • The text also didn’t say ‘sell all’…stuff is fine, just don’t make it an idol

I think if I count things, I might feel more compelled to shed even more.  Numbers are so concrete…hard to justify large counts of like things…

Leave a Reply

