SMC: Needing Inspiration

feeling-bored
I’m feeling quite redundant…and uninspired.

In My Feelings

I’m bored…

The good thing about a uniform is you know what works well and can get ready quickly.

The bad thing -> boredom.

Boredom Buster?

What can I do to the above…so it feels less repetitive and stale…

  • Add a statement necklace
  • Add a pretty pin to the scarf or beanie
  • Add a vest
  • Layer with a button up
  • Swap the jeans for a skirt or form-fitting dress

The Rub

I’m still bored.

As I want to stop shopping so much…and really be grateful for what I have…and really be a good steward…I think the enemy is the author of this supposed boredom because I’ve had spells where I didn’t shop for fun.

God is not a God of confusion…so the fact that I feel like this further lets me know, I need to not buy most things I like…I need to get to the reason as to why I want so many things in the first place.

Re-Frame

I have great pieces.  I can go for a month or more and not repeat an entire outfit…so why am I complaining?  What right do I have to complain?  I have no reason to complain.

I have more than I used to have…and even if I didn’t…I need to see excessive shopping for what it is – sin.  [Lord, I confess and repent, please help me to say NO to things that aren’t needful.  Please give me new ideas on mixing and matching what I have…and also ideas and firm conviction on what needs to go.]

 Ecclesiastes 4:4

I have seen that every labor and every skill which is done is the result of rivalry between a man and his neighbor This too is vanity and striving after wind.

I have been vain-shopping [shopping for excess and not need]…

Ecclesiastes 2:1

I said to myself, “Come now, I will test you with pleasure. So enjoy yourself.” And behold, it too was futility.

Vain-shopping is futile…
Even more…while I can express myself via style…the main bit of my identity [who I am in Christ] cannot be full expressed that way – outside marring [with immodesty] or demonstrating it [with appropriate modesty].
So why then does it consume so much of my interest and time?  I’m out of balance.
It is better to be content with what the eyes can see than for one’s heart always to crave more. This continual longing is futile — like chasing the wind.
So what shall I do?
Keep shopping my closet…
Delete some emails…
Unsubscribe from others…
Leave a Reply

