Us…

generations
If I were to style us for Christmas pictures.  Pa would wear a dark suit, white shirt and red printed tie!

On any given Sunday – if we all met at the same church, this is how I’d see us.

We four ladies of southern descent…[instead of we three kings of orient…don’t know the rest of the song 🙂 ]

Different but similar styles.

Varying ideas on how Sunday Finery should look [above].

Different shapes.

Different sizes.

Style Breakdown

Style analysis using the language of this article [Classicists, Bombshells, Bohemians, Ladies, Minimalists, Eclectics], as per me, would be:

Ma

Classicist – Effortlessly chic in simple staple pieces…suit…trousers…white shirt…sticking with things that have stood the test of time. 

Ladyprim, polished and pulled-together…feminine vice flirty.

Minimalist – simple shapes, toned-down palette.

Her Closet

pencil skirts…pretty blouses…sensible but attractive footwear…tasteful jewelry…classic jeans…button downs…earth-toned colors…neutrals…

Even her “around the house” clothes are on point…she is #goals when I’m her age…but her mom was elegant…’decently and in order’ is the phrase I hear [usually in response to my being a little too extra as Infant would say!]

Gift Idea

Gift cards!  🙂  Or ask…and like Infant, she will give you a list…nothing on it will be cheap either 🙂

Me

Bombshell – picking pieces that show off a curvy, feminine figure is the norm…clothes that accentuate the hourglass.

Lady, what can I say -> I get it from my Mama!

Minimalist  – sleek, simple shapes in monochrome, toned-down palette…looking sharp and smart…black is your best friend…no-frills hues…lean lines

Maverick – every now and then I get bored and do something random – bold looks, fashion-forward, not afraid to experiment.

With  maturity, one cares less about the opinions of others…which gives way to style experimentation.

My Closet

The shorter list would be what is NOT in it 🙂

sleek bottoms…flattering dresses…thin  knits…lots of cardigans…few blazers [thinking to donate a few more]…tees…blouses…button downs…scarves…lots of baubles…more shoes than required…loads of belts…a lot of solids…a few classic prints…capes…fun coats…studs…lace…zippers…harness boots…really random…western boots

Much of it is contouring [vice body-con] or materials that will move with me so as to seem contouring anyway.  I look fat in garments that are loose or flowing…NOT. FOR. ME.  😐  I belt things as needed to make it visually clear that I am NOT massive.  I’m a bit loony about it too.

I’m a moody dresser…but whatever I pick will be decent and in order for the look I’m aiming for!

I also don’t like being told what to wear…will rebel every time…or have a quiet attitude in the least 😦  I need latitude for expression…flats vs. heels…skirt vs. dress vs. trousers…peppy vs. muted…

Gift Idea

Gift cards!  🙂  Where Ma has everything…I am super picky and hard to fit.  The items in my closet range from 2 – 10…every brand is cut different.  Best not to try!  I believe in donating unloved items to charity!  QUICKLY.  Pretty jewels would work though…nice classic watches too!

Infant

Eclectic – has fun with fashion…playful…bright colors…madcap pairings…loud patterns…never say never…

Sometimes I have to be the voice of reason as to the appropriateness of things!

Lady -> she gets it from her Mama and Grandmama!

Her Closet

pencil skirts…pretty blouses…sneakers…ghillie flats…boots…some baubles but not many…she sticks to her faves…lots of jeans…lots of button ups [required at school]…hoodies…swing dresses…a-line dresses…cardigans…vests…blazers..

What she will pick on a give non-uniform day out of all that is anyone’s guess!

I love her in girly things!

I positively gush when she pulls together a stylish but definitely ‘her’ outfit.

Gift Idea

Items on her mile-long list – that she actively manages based on life.  Though I buy what I want anyway!  I’m the boss of this outfit!

Sister

Bohemian – free-spirited style…earthy, ethnic-inspired looks…modern-day flower child…

Lady -> further proof that when it is all said and done, we become updated versions of our mothers more often than not in at least some small respect.  She only pulls this out as needed…she tends to be as casual as possible.  It’s so her!  We are polar opposites in style and temperament…sun and moon.

Her Closet

vintage finds…peasant tops…maxi skirts…black…more black…earth-toned colors…flats…hoodies…jeans…tees…

My favorite look of hers, for her because it looks awful on me [I tried LOL], the peasant tops and maxi skirts…it perfectly suits her.

Gift Idea

I find it fun shopping for her…I try to get colors and things she likes but also that she may not buy herself.  Like a classic leather tote bag of better quality than she might buy…classic boots…scarves that speak to the ethnic looks she loves…semi-statement baubles…skincare…she is usually the easiest.

This is us 🙂  Well the female contingent of us!

Note to self -> Knowing someone makes gift buying easier in most cases…however, nothing makes gift buying easy for the matriarch that has everything!

Leave a Reply

