NYFW 2016 Colors

nyfw-2016-pantone-colors
Fall 2016 – A Unity of Strength, Confidence and Complexity – more here.

I like the concept of uniting strength, confidence and complexity.  Who wants to be a weak, insecure and basic broad?  Not me 🙂  It makes me think about wearing what I prefer because I love it and not just wearing any and everything that is presented to me via various media outlets…and the frenzy of those outlets and others can be contagious.  I have to be vigilant.

With that said, when does honest wishes for pretty things become coveting?  I’m guessing the line is pretty thin between the two.  I must check my motives…

Am I just following the masses because I want what they have? [ -> coveting ]

OR

Do I genuinely like it?  If yes, think through the need, opportunity costs, upkeep, and if anything else should be purchased beforehand.

practice-chart
Frippery Flow Chart 🙂

Initially I am drawn to:

  • Lush Meadow
  • Aurora Red
  • Bodacious
  • Sharkskin

However, I don’t see myself racing out to procure any.

I can tolerate:

  • Riverside
  • Airy Blue
  • Warm Taupe [though it would clash horribly with my complexion]
  • Dusty Cedar

Again, I don’t see myself making any effort to procure these either.

I can completely do without Potter’s Clay [though it reminds me that is what I am to the Lord].

I HATE Spicy Mustard.  I despise mustard as a color, spicy or not.  I have no clue why  or how I can hate it so much.  Other yellows are usually tolerable though I seldom reach for them.

Red and grey always work for me and both are timeless [to me at least].

Fashion says me too, but style says only me -> none of these colors scream me.  I love grey and red, but as I have plenty of both [and reach for black and tan more], I see no reason to shop for these.

Maybe new polish or eye makeup is the best way to pull in colors this season [and going forward].  I love new and variety, but constantly chasing colors is beyond me.  I’ll never be a true minimalist, BUT, not chasing new colored garments is a way to cut down on clutter and shopping.

For nails:

  • Bodacious
  • Aurora Red
  • Sharkskin
  • Dusty Cedar

For eyes:

  • Lush Meadow [liner]
  • Dusty Cedar [shadow]
  • Riverside [liner]

Logic applied -> result -> add new colors in small and inexpensive ways that still have impact!

 

Leave a Reply

