Closet Confidence #16

pst - 16

Loving this challenge – or the ones I’ve elected to think through in my process of not shopping.  Today’s analysis is what isn’t me.  Not-me, non-me, or un-me.  I like un-me.

There are many reasons not to wear things.  Including, but NOT limited to:

  • Unflattering
  • Ill-suited to your lifestyle
  • Clashes with your coloring
  • Aging effects
  • Waste of money
  • Short lifespan
  • Adds girth

For the above reasons and likely more, I eschew the following:

  • Busy hats
  • Platforms
  • Patchwork
  • Wide leg pants including culottes
  • Peasant tops
  • Latex clothing
  • Sunglasses with those clear nose pads
  • Super high heels
  • Unstructured bags
  • Ruffles
  • Tye-dye
  • Swimsuits that will cause HORRIFIC tan lines
  • Rings on every finger
  • Too many busy [aka garish] items in an outfit
  • Sleazy clothes – much of the body-com goes TOO far
  • ANYTHING THAT DOESN’T FLATTER

Via life, trial, and error I’ve learned that I have the following preferences concerning myself, my shape and my life:

Clean Lines & Symmetry

If it doesn’t lay right, I want no part of it.  I love symmetry – in a way that is almost obsessive.  I like bags that retain their shape despite the contents.

Uniformity

Weird patterns are distracting.  Pattern s that don’t like up over the seams is maddening.  Patchwork, for example, tends not to be the uniform at all.  Clean lines maybe, but not uniform.  Likely relates to  my love of symmetry.

Flat or Matte

Shine highlights girth and creates a more corpulent look on anyone who is not thin or perfectly formed.  I am not perfectly formed OR thin!

Comfort

I’ll never consistently wear that which is painful or requires frequent adjustment – like feet beaters and clothes you have to pull on to keep straight.  Closely related to this is ease of getting ready.  If I have to do a lot to wear something…it won’t get used often if at all…no to pleats.

Practicality

Stilettos don’t work on most days for me.  Cute fit gear that doesn’t perform well doesn’t work for me.  I want things that work hard for the role that I’m in for that day or moment.  Fit gear must have compression and daily clothes must be stylish AND comfortable – I won’t compromise on either.  Compromise leads to more shopping -> more shopping leads to the dark side 🙂

Balance

One star per outfit.  Balance busy with quiet.  If I choose a busy top, the bottom will be far quieter.  For instance, I’ll balance a sequin skirt with a tee or chambray top…then add a simple heel or my superstars.

Know yourself then adorn yourself accordingly…tis the only way.

 

Leave a Reply

