Thrice As Likely

post-on-gap

One company, three brands -> Banana, GAP and Old Navy – thrice as likely to get my money!

Just not right now – I am N O T shopping presently 🙂

Same parent company but I like each for different things.

Old Navy

  • Black High Rise Compression Crops
    • work well tucked into boots as leggings!
  • Active Socks
  • Ribbed Fitted Tanks
  • Infant’s Fit Gear

Only the above – I’ve tried other items and they didn’t work.  I know my role.  Their jeans don’t fit me well, their patterned crops don’t look right [print gets lighter towards the hips 😐 ], and the clothes for the price don’t fit my quality/style/cost requirements…despite how cute I think others look in their things!

Infant is tall and thin – ergo she can get whatever…though she only tolerates the jeggings if she can’t have Express…so I try not to waste my money!

GAP

  • Jeggings (mid-rise and zip-fly only)
  • Shorts
  • Cute camo

I like GAP in theory, but I like other stores better.  I got the jeggings on a whim and was pleasantly surprised.  However, I don’t think I like them better than Express jeggings.

Beyond bottoms, I’m not that into GAP.  I can find similar with the same or better quality elsewhere.

Banana Republic

  • Tops
  • Dresses
  • Slacks
  • Skirts
  • Shorts
  • Accessories

I hate – like deepest loathing kind of hate – their jeans.  There I’ve said it.  They are cut for skinnier thighs than mine 😐

Anything else I’ll try…and trying on is a must.

Know what you want and then shop for it.

Being sensible and working through the minutia of what works best and what is a mediocre option helps limit the shopping.  Unless I try them and they are perfect, I shall never buy jeans from Banana or Old Navy [hate those too for my shape].

I’ve found that having a plan helps with the shopping strategy a bit. 🙂  Counting the cost:

  1. If it doesn’t feel good, will I wear it (and get a low-cost per wear)?
  2. Will it cost a lot of money tailoring to fit?
  3. Does it go well with things I already own (if not, = more money to be spent sooner rather than later)?
  4. Will it require expensive underpinnings to make it work?

Salient details for sure.  I know in Luke 14, He means counting the cost of being a disciple before seeking to be one…but I need to be wiser on the front end of other decisions too. I need to think through things so as to get the best return on whatever I invest…money in the case of clothes…time in the case of activities…etc.

“But don’t begin until you count the cost. For who would begin construction of a building without first calculating the cost to see if there is enough money to finish it? 29 Otherwise, you might complete only the foundation before running out of money, and then everyone would laugh at you. 30 They would say, ‘There’s the person who started that building and couldn’t afford to finish it!’

Luke 14.28-30 NLT

 

Leave a Reply

