Body Embracement

pst-embrace
Progress not perfection…Direction not perfection.

My trainer sent this article [wonderfully encouraging as she is herself].

Why?!

She hears the conversations…the slightly self-loathing tint to conversations and the curiosity if some issues can be alleviated or must simply be borne 🙂

How do you feel when you think about how your body looks?
(1 = absolutely terrible, 10 = freaking awesome)

8; 10 in a flattering dress

How often do you think about things you’d like to change on your body?
(1 = constantly, 10 = never)

8 – I focus on the process and performance lest I fully descend in to bad body image crazy!

How often do you look in the mirror and think, “I look really awesome!”
(1 = never, 10 = always)

9 [kinda feels shameful to admit]

How confident do you feel when you’re in a swimsuit?
(1 = not confident at all, 10 = extremely confident)

1 – never have been, even when I was a size 2…so much exposed has never been easy for me!  I just feel odd and hurry to the water.

How confident do you feel about your body during intimate moments? 
(1 = not confident at all, 10 = extremely confident)

N/A – taking God’s approach and waiting 🙂

How often do you catch yourself saying/thinking negative things about your body? 
(1 = constantly, 10 = never)

9 – only when something doesn’t fit…or the scale returns a number I do not like [hence why I avoid it – today’s number wasn’t great].

How often do you catch yourself saying negative things about your body to other people? 
(1 = constantly, 10 = never)

1 – shoulders

2 – semi-gut

10 – the rest…

As long as I look good in my clothes, I’m usually a happy camper.

How well do you receive compliments from others?
(1 = not well, 10 = really well)

5 – but because I suspect flatterers…once I discern the motives I’m good 🙂

In this day and age, a lot of compliments are self-serving – given to receive, given to disarm, given to distract, etc.

How often do you have feelings of shame in regards to your body?
(1 = constantly, 10 = never)

10 – I know what I did to get here and what I must do to reverse it.

However, the cost to reverse all of the corpulence is more than I’ll bear so I push for progress and mentally keep it moving.  Life is too short for nasty or tasteless food.  I moderate my intake, but if I want a tasty treat, I’m having it.

If I told you that you could drastically change your perception of your body in 28 days, would you believe me?
(1 = absolutely not, 10 = no doubt about it)

5 – lasting mental resets come via The Word -> Scripture the Holy Spirit can use to correct or encourage.   Self help tactics tend to be short-lived for me.  My commitment is far greater when it is God I’m concerned with obeying or disappointing.

Seeing myself as Christ sees me and living in light of that is my aim more than esteeming myself [which I have no problem doing, and that is a problem!].  I also aim to remember that we are all fearfully and wonderfully made.

Takeaways

  • Focus on how God sees me
  • Count the cost of what I eat and make wiser choices
  • Find new and healthy treats
  • Remember my Creator when I fix my face to complain about the body He designed
  • Be an encourager – pay it forward
  • Ban negative self talk
  • Take every thought captive

Goals

Since I am to be goal oriented instead of appearance oriented:

  • learn the Scripture of what God says about me
  • learn 5 new healthy recipes by year-end
  • go harder in my workouts – shorter breaks and persisting for longer in the ‘wanna quit right now’ phase
  • stretch more [Yoga]
  • drink more water
  • pray when I get into the mood to complain about or criticize His handiwork
Leave a Reply

