Watson

post-muse-watson

What inspires and suits me:

  • Bold but not garish or over done
  • Fun but functional clothes (bold blue and black dress above near the bottom left)
  • Thick and chunky heels…booties
  • Layers and Neutrals
  • Great fitting slacks but mostly dresses and skirts
  • Above the knee (but not scandalously) hems
  • Lacking in busyness
  • Polished with quiet & practical elegance
  • Unrelated to style – her facial composure – and even temper.  EQUANIMITY

How I differ:

  • Mama
  • Strong southern tendencies
  • High usage of statement necklaces
  • I eschew drop-waist garments and anything flowy
  • Wear more jeans

Practical Takeaways:

  • Versatility of booties
  • Scarves and hats add polish for cooler months
  • Alterations will be needed for best fit for my height
  • Minimalistic looks are my faves
  • Needed -> super opaque tights

My life is super casual – so while I love dressing up, I hate how certain types of dressed up reduce my speed (pretty but dysfunctional heels), shorten by gait (higher heels, platforms, and skinny heels in general) and impede my progress (materials that require finicky care, hems that prevent quick bends, body-con that makes me not want to eat or even have a sip of water, etc.).

I tend to be in a hurry despite vehemently hating the act/requirement of hurrying so I need great pieces that mix well and are easy to wear.   Getting ready is a process and surliness happens with that process isn’t smooth 😐

I also don’t want to burden of worrying about what I wear while I am wearing it.  I am a good steward in regards to care for what I have, but I don’t want ‘glass house clothes’ – and by that I mean, things that have to be worn with such care that I become a miserable shrew (= Cruella).  If I have to be that way, perhaps I can’t really afford that particular garment, bag, shoe, etc.

Too much worry over clothes…especially to the detriment of concern for others…kind of makes them into an idol.  If my clothes prevent my work in the Kingdom or patience with others (i.e. response to a stepped on foot or spill)…that is a problem.

31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God[a] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

Matthew 6.31-34 NLT

I met a lady who really hated kids coming to her house because they could break her precious breakable items…that made an impression on me.  I don’t think I’d ever actually heard such nastiness – or what it sounds like when said out loud – IDK, it made an impression that lead to some change.  While I do believe parents should raise respectful humans, the Lord used this lady as a lesson for me since I tend to be a bit high strung myself, and it was a huge lesson where I refined in my own mind that I want nice things, but not such that they make me less gracious and hospitable.  Selfishness and vanity are easy and they happen to the best of us – and for some, it is a natural proclivity.  Planning ahead seems to help reduce the inclination.  For every high maintenance option

  • If I buy this will I be a jerk when I wear it?
    • Clothes
    • Home goods
    • Cars
    • Anything really
  • Can I actually afford the upkeep of this item if worn/used in every environment I frequent?
    • Maintenance costs
    • Registration
    • Taxes
    • Etc.
  • Will I be gracious if someone steps on my foot, spills on me, or gets makeup on me (gross)?  Sweet to kids with molly hands, snotty  noses or slobbery mouths?  If not, avoiding said environments, would the item get sufficient wear to make it work the expenditure???

Resulting ideas -> sturdy shoes, clothes that are easy to care for, no-fuss hair styles, etc.

Goal -> clothes that are quiet, comfortable and stylish (with a pop – scarf or statement necklace 🙂 ) that require little to NO fuss.  They hold up and they match everything else.

-> Polished with an edge (modesty should be assumed)

-> Preferably no Dry Cleaning required 🙂

Leave a Reply

