Juxtaposition

Perfection is boring…sterile looking…uninspired.  I loathe matchy-matchy on myself.

progress

jux·ta·po·si·tion — ˌjəkstəpəˈziSH(ə)n/ — noun
  1. the fact of two things being seen or placed close together with contrasting effect.
    “the juxtaposition of these two images”

I love contrast.  I hate being labeled and assigned outfits.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • The prissy girl with tattoos.
  • Rugged boots with an otherwise girly outfit.
  • The tiny girl that is very strong.
  • Moto jackets and pearls.
  • Leather and lace.
  • Studded jacket with dainty pumps.
  • Flowers and combat boots.
  • Chambray and sequins.
  • Dresses and superstars.
  • Plaid and glitter.
  • Darth Vader in rhinestones!
  • Gritty tees and heels.

Contrast, in the way I am thinking, defies stereotypes.  It also requires thought and creativity.  I don’t like being boxed more than necessary.  Because you are this then you must also be that.  UM NO.  I will be whoever I wish [or is it whomever?].  I’m not just one thing…I am many things.  Different is good!

This little bit of rebellion stems from despising being told what to wear by others.  Give me an unnecessary uniform – I’ll make the giver intensely hate having done so while following every single asinine rule given.  I am just that way -> I express myself through my clothes most days.  It will be appropriate and in order but also distinctly me.  I value modesty and appropriateness but that doesn’t mean dowdy, frumpy or ugly. -> end rant 🙂

Rather than shop…and it is challenging with so many great sales (Ann Taylor is the on through Friday and I am resisting but they have pink suede pumps and an all-season black skirt I kinda want)…today’s exercise focuses on how to make a uniform not look sterile -> I have a plan -> I am excited.   [insert hand rubbing and maniacal laughter ascending in volume]

As there are no specifically assigned items/brands – only colors and fit/length…following the rules means I can express myself via:

  • Jewelry -> BLING
  • Shoes
  • Hosiery
  • Belts
  • Hair-> extensions, color, accessories
  • Great fitting uniform items
  • Cuffs
  • Makeup -> eye liner
  • Nail polish
  • Add a tie or sash in the appropriate colors
  • Layering
  • Bold items in the assigned colors and of the appropriate fit/length -> huge peplum or butterfly sleeves 🙂
  • Texture and sheen

Note to self -> perspective is everything…don’t get angry, it clouds your thinking and you miss stuff -> like making a uniform stunning will flex creativity and be a good practice.

Style Goal 1 -> do something, at least slightly, different each time.

Style Goal 2 -> create a capsule of over-the-top but uniform-compliant items.  I’ve got the goods anyway, may as well start a collection.

Happy Friday indeed!

Leave a Reply

