Nordstrom Anniversary Sale

nord-sale-post

Blogger after blogger has spent weeks prepping the audience for this sale.  So great…so wonderful…such great deals…get your wish list set up in advance to make it easier!

😦

I found it rather meh.  Nothing I truly wanted was on sale via this supposed great sale.  So I got some foundation items and hand cream…what a great sale 😐  Color me unimpressed.  It seems to be a better endeavor to just watch the items on the site as they go on normal sale…  All that aside, I did see some great deals, just not for my shopping list.  The only things that tempted me were:

Higher end denim at about 50% off…but, as I intend to put off such a purchase until I’ve been the same size for 18 months…today was not the day to get them.

Leather moto jackets…cute but none were quite what I was looking for…seems likely I will watch All Saints – they have the look I really want.

🙂

With such a huge disappointment, I checked my Express account to see if my rewards had posted – $90 – and they had [yay me]…couple that with a great coupon – and I’ve two jackets and a layering cami (latter on sale and great for modesty).

🙂 🙂

SO – I have been thinking and dreaming about the black Harrow boot…well as it wasn’t on sale via Nordstrom [I waited to check – I hate spending more than I have to] or the brand’s website I decided to try a NWT pair from Poshmark…I had more than half the price from my own sales…net cost of the shoe to me in new money [so to speak] was 123.10…far cry from 495.00 and I thinned out my closet!  What, What!

Now that I’ve my boots, some shaping underpinnings, hand cream [germa-phobe that lifts makes for rough hands at times], and spent my reward cash – Lord willing I won’t be trolling for anything else…except an a-line black skirt that hits just above the knee…but even then…I can wait!  I do believe that waiting should look like:

  1. No special trips to sites and stores to browse for the thing
  2. No big expenditures because I really am not about that life
  3. Peace at purchase
  4. Won’t feel like yet another excess

In all seriousness, I tried to be sober when I hit the Nordstrom sale, not just buying a great deal because I could…was it on the list or needed, if not, no purchase.  I have plenty.  I thank God for helping me with some of those temptations [great jeans?!  what?!].

I’m going to have to lean heavily on Him to resist the good sales that seem to come up every day – I MEAN EVERY SINGLE DAY WITHOUT FAIL…deals on pretty things too – not just deals on stuff I don’t like.  I don’t want them to  become idols.

25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

28 And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are.30 And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs.33 Seek the Kingdom of God[e] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

Matthew 6.25-34 NLT

This was the text for today’s devotional.  I didn’t read it before but after; I firmly believe that this was the ‘you’re done now’ I needed.  QUIT WORRYING ABOUT CLOTHES!  He provides…needs and even wants.  I’m supremely blessed because of Jesus, and yet He still blesses me with trivial material goods I want.  Usually that is how I have peace with a purchase, a great deal on an item I will use a lot.  Sadly, I have many other things that look a lot like what an unbeliever is thinking about 😐 shows poor faith and imprudence.

I feel led to start a fund to help others…I think I’ll call it my Friend Fund.  I won’t advertise it, but on the off chance there is someone I can help, I will use this fund.  A friend of mine, who is quite wise in pecuniary matters, said don’t lend if you need it back…well I need all my dollars and people never need help when you have excess…but…if I pinch off a bit at a time, it can grow.  Be prepared!

Lord forgive me and help  me to be faithful to my Friend Fund.

07.18.2016 —

Nordstrom is quite smart in enlisting bloggers.  I am so glad some of my faves blogged on the Nordstrom sale…though I only got one other thing [yes I know, for shame – but it is super versatile and if it doesn’t work when it gets here – back it goes!]…several bloggers however made me reconsider my original stance on certain items…but as I’ve belabored above -> I have plenty and am presently waiting on returns on my fitness endeavors.  I just found the effect of blogger testimonials quite striking.

Sometimes it isn’t enough to just see the thing and decide…but seeing pieces in outfits and reading the likes and dislikes!  Creativity…I wonder what I can do to foster that…IDK, perhaps different perspectives from people with great style will always help!

It was also interesting to see which bloggers did not.

Leave a Reply

