CK

ck-post

I love the CK aesthetic.  Minimal Chic – clean lines, seldom busy (I can tolerate certain patterns, but I’d rather a great solid color garment…preferably neutral), sleek, very wearable and very figure flattering.  Practical fashion that has an elegant touch that allows me to vary the statement piece based on my mood (necklace, scarf, bag, etc.).  My CK pieces are some of my most versatile pieces…work, church, etc.

So far, my experience is as follows:

🙂 Hounds-tooth cape – loads of compliments [though this isn’t really pertinent]

🙂 Sheath dresses

🙂 Down Puffer Coat

🙂 Euphoria fragrance

😐 Bags – decent if on sale

😐 Skirts – decent if lined…I’ve yet to find one in my  new size at a price I’ll pay (God will provide in His timing).

😦 ‘Non-suit’ material dresses…the stretchy knits – they pill!

😦 Romper – the one I got was belted and blouson styled…not ideal 😐

Ross and Amazon are my go-to places for CK items.  Every now and then I may find something at Dillard’s or Macy’s…but prices tend to be the best at Ross and Amazon.

As I am working on thinking rightly ->

After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it.

So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content.

But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction.

1 Timothy 6:7-9

Tame the desire to get every item I can – even if it is a deal (maybe someone else needs it more than I do)!

Verse 7 – clothes aren’t eternal…pursuit of them isn’t generally of eternal value either.  I should be more focused on laying up treasures in heaven with my life here – studying, praying and living for God – building up the body.

Verse 8 – I have enough – it is high time to be content…replacing or new needs are not the same as getting more for the sake of more.

Verse 9 – temptation -> trapped in harmful desires -> ruin/destruction (aka debt).

I don’t think I will ignore a super fabulous deal – but I won’t search it out 🙂

Logic says excess is wasteful in the extreme as the following are true:

  1. I telecommute
  2. 4-5 Sundays per month
  3. 2 of which I usher (uniformed in the old school usher tradition 😐 )
  4. 12-15 Sundays per season roughly

In short – I don’t need as many as I have, much less more of them.  I really need to thin out my dress stash via Poshmark and drastically reduce purchases.

My purchases tend to be modern classics that can work in multiple seasons with layering so what I have tends to have a decent bit of longevity in terms of style and use.  I purposely don’t  choose excessively printed or adorned pieces, lest they have to  be replaced frequently – I really don’t do looking like a soup sandwich 🙂

The same is true of outerwear…I have enough coats – but in the winter months, the coat is a part of the outfit!  Note to self – you don’t need coats either!

Another note to self -> be content!

One thought on “CK

Leave a Reply

